Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Dead interesting

Had a rootle around the very old part of a graveyard today - don't judge me - and came across some dead interesting stone carving. I can't remember seeing carving like this, have I just not been paying attention? The main image of ivy leaves is delicate and pretty and is on the grave of a young woman. The Victorians thought ivy symbolised keeping memory of the person evergreen. 

The extra is reminiscent of a Celtic knot, is the S shape a design choice or is it significant to Anglicanism? I love that you can see and touch the marks of the tools in the background - the hand of the craftsman. 

There were other stones engraved with grapevines, leaves and fruit - does that represent Christian faith? The other interesting find was the name of the mason at the bottom of the stone. So it was an interesting and puzzling walk today! 

Can any fellow blippers enlighten me? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.