Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

I’ve only gone and done it...

I’ve not been able to use my 18-55 lens for around a year.  I finally got to take it into a camera shop last week and was told it wasn’t worth repairing. Although I have a compact camera as well I much prefer using the DSLR so it’s been a pain not being able to use it .  The camera shop recommended a Tamron 16-300 as a replacement so I’ve done some research this week and it got very good reviews; a few comments about a marginal loss of quality at the extremes but otherwise complimentary.  It certainly wouldn’t suit a lot of photographers but for the sort of pictures I take it sounded ideal so today I drove back into Norwich and took the plunge.  I have to say that so far I am very pleased with it; my other lenses were only the kit lenses that came with the camera so this was bound to be an improvement.

I had a trip to the beach at Cley this afternoon to take a few test shots and this is the result.  Two shots; both taken from the same position and one from each extreme of the lens range.  I think I’m going to enjoy using this lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.