Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Aftermath

Another lovely day - differently lovely, without the crystal clarity of yesterday until the sharp view of the moon in the evening, accompanied by wisps of pink cloud - but sunny and cool and beautiful. I think I'm saying all this first, so that my moan about once more feeling under the weather after the second vaccination doesn't dominate - I thought it might not be like this after the days of misery 12 weeks ago. However, I don't think it's as bad now as when I woke, so perhaps everything's relative. 

I had various relatively peaceful things lined up to do today, but was thrown off course by phone calls - one during breakfast, which was a real downer. Another one prevented my answering a mobile call from my GP, which was infuriating, considering that GP calls are a precious commodity these days. So by the time I'd had coffee and a couple of paracetamol I had to get ready to go and make a recording in church, and because it was so lovely we walked there and back - slowly. 

Lunch outside, followed by the kind of indeterminate faffing that often accompanies feeling off-colour, left me feeling the only way to redeem the day was a gentle stroll in Benmore Gardens. By the time we arrived, everyone had gone home - we met one of the gardeners in her car as we went in - and we had the place to ourselves. The birds were everywhere, singing their hearts out; a woodpecker was doing its nut somewhere nearby, a small group of deer wandered down the hill and disappeared among some rhododendrons. My photo was taken in one of the high forested areas, where the moss lies thickly on the ground and the distant view is of Glen Massan and another walk heading up the far hillside. 

We came home feeling better; I started making a cake at the same time as cooking dinner (bad move) and then we spoiled it all by having a fight over the designation of bank accounts. We've just resurrected it too, just before bedtime. I can feel myself looking like Mussolini...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.