Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Good moments

After the absorption of yesterday, living in the moment, in the wind and the sun, among the hills - after all that, and the exertion required to bring it about, today was of necessity rather different. The business of, quite literally, the daily bread takes on a new importance when you can't just pop down to the shop for something for lunch, and today I found myself making three lots - some more flatbreads (using up sourdough starter), a new batch of sourdough brown bread to be finished tomorrow, and a white loaf in the machine for tomorrow's breakfast. This, along with a chat with my pal over coffee (FaceTime) took up the whole morning and suddenly it was one o'clock.

So my blip for today is lunch in the garden - flatbreads, salad, a bit of cheese, some fruit. After that I fell asleep for a bit in the sun and woke with a stiff neck. Then I filled in a 30 minute questionnaire for Generation Scotland, and revamped my generic shopping list to send to my shopping angel, who texted me to remind me that it was Wednesday (I had indeed forgotten). We managed a shortish, birdsongy walk before dinner in weather that suddenly felt like summer as the wind died, and were in time to attend online Compline as well.

And I was feeling quietly optimistic, until I heard the News at Ten. I think I can cope with this situation a day, a week at a time - but to have the gloom extended for months ahead brought all that crashing down again. I realise I can't stand the slogans, the new normals, the clapping at the window every week - all of it. 

And I need my dentist. Help!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.