Galloway_Matt

By Galloway_Matt

Bog Life....

I have a strange attraction to the boggy areas of our country....
I find the abundance of life that can be found in them fascinating....

When I moved to Galloway from Yorkshire I was overjoyed to find I had my very own bog within walking distance from home....
A place that has been left to do as it wants...
A place I often go to for my sit while wandering....
There is a small boulder that is perfect for me to sit on....
Lifts me up out of the wet....
And provides a lovely viewpoint to enjoy my surroundings....
The sounds of the peaty stream flowing gently....
The birds singing nearby....
The sun catching the bog myrtle making it glow.....

For me, the sit is as important as the walk....
Finding somewhere to spend half an hour or an hour.....
Watching the world....
Noticing the changes....

Taking in the sights, the sounds, the smells....
When a place is visited regularly it becomes a friend....
As the relationship builds more gets revealed....
Little secrets that may have gone unnoticed many times before.....
There’s always something new....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.