Sowing the seeds

Not as sunny today as it has been for the last few days. Gradually clouding over – I hope that’s not the end of the fine spell!

I’ve spent most of the day in the garden, or should I say on the deck, sowing seeds and potting up – one of my favourite occupations! Mrs M had been looking for the bag of seeds from last year to see what was left in the way of herbs. I decided to go through the bag to see what was in it – it’s horrendous, seed and fern spores going back for years!

Most of the fern spores will be past using, I fear – a pity as there are spores from Seattle, Japan, the Canaries, from many other places in the UK, from Arduaine, from friends’ gardens. I sowed many of the seeds, plus some vegetables for this year, but I’m not sure about the spores. It takes a lot of time to prepare for sowing – the pots have to be cleaned and sterilised, the compost has to be sterilised in the microwave, and it’s a lot of work for sowing dud spores. I might pick out the best and have a go on the next wet day!

I’ve been rather a Grumpy Old Man today, as someone has been putting up a fence in a neighbour’s garden and the radio has been on loudly all day, driving me mad. Why can’t people working outside enjoy the sounds of the birds and even the chatting of passers-by! After lunch someone started up a chainsaw some distance away, so I’ve had both noises to contend with!

I went out for a 10 minute walk after clearing up, chatting to my neighbour for five of those. On the way back another neighbour’s black cat was sitting on the wall and to my surprise, he came along to greet me, as I thought. When I reached out to stroke him, he bared his teeth,  hissed at me and wacked me with his paw! Sweet pussy!

Quote of the Day:

Terry Pratchett – “ In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this.“

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.