Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Carpenter shop underway

Today I started to paint my S scale kit for the carpenter shop.  I was going to start at the other end of the layout with the blacksmith shop, but decided to do the carpenter shop, steam shack, and brewery all at once at this end.  That way I can finish the front of the layout with scenery etc.  The extra shows where the three buildings will go.  This way I can detail the area from my swing gate to the top between the two tracks where the buildings will sit.

I am painting the shop with a technique I picked up from the kit maker - Wild West.  I stain the exterior (both sides) with a 1% black ink wash.  It dries under weight to prevent warpage.  Then today I started to rub on a little color.  This time a medium dark brown.  Just cheap Walmart craft paint and a piece of green kitchen scrubber - kinda dry brushing.  I will do the same with with the steam building - the parts are piled up at the top of the blip.  Window sashes will be a tan scrub, and the frames a card red scrub.

Also, you can see what the model will look like.  I do like these kits from Wild West - they go together really well - right on the money.

BTW the carpenter shop back in the day made furniture and caskets - serving as the undertaker .  Still thinking about the right name.  I did find some S scale caskets that were 3D printed to be sitting on the loading dock.  I also have some S scale tables and chairs for the dock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.