Aqueduct

I've posted a lot of blips of the Stratford Canal over the ongoing pandemic, but today's picture is Edstone Aqueduct, not blipped, by me, since August 2014.

This afternoon we met Maureen and Ian at The View, the restaurant with a great view, which has now reopened for outdoor catering.  They have a large outside area with plenty of tables, all socially distanced, but knowing it is quite a popular destination I booked one in advance.

The weather was great, if a little blowy, and we had a good chat with our tea and coffee.  Eventually we decided to go for a walk along the canalside and ended up at Edstone Aqueduct; the longest in England it was constructed during the period 1750 and 1799 (that info was on my original blip but I suspect you've forgotten,  I certainly had!).

Although we sat on the wall nattering for quite a while no canal boats came past to spice up the picture, oh well.

If you're not a fan of canals I've added an extra of one of the ponies kept at the farm next door to The View.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.