Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Brick

Did you miss me?
I've not actually been away, just occupied with other activities and short of time to post my daily updates. But here we are, catch-up time! A few days worth of Blips uploaded today.

Wednesday was another bright, sunny and warm day. Just a pity that I had to spend much of it in front of my computer. Drove over to Denny in the afternoon for what was intended to be a short walk but ended up being a rather longer one. From Denny, I walked over the Dale Bridge onto the Denovan Road and followed that down into Dunipace and back to my start-point.

I decided that this would be a good day to revisit the various sculptures and street art that now adorn Denny town centre. Created by the sculptor Joseph Ingleby, Discovery Oak and the Denny Battleship have already featured in my journal, and today's offering is titled 'Brick and Broch'.

An internet search describes this sculpture like this:

Part of the Denny Treasure Trail,2018, cast in iron and stainless steel and commissioned by Falkirk Council as part of the £7.6m regeneration project in the centre of Denny, Falkirk, Scotland, this sculpture symbolises the former cast iron foundry crucibles. One is in the shape of a broch similar to nearby Tappoch Broch, the other in the form of a 'bee-hive' brick kiln as used in Denny's former brick works. With the dice they resemble cups or shakers referencing the printing of board games at the paper mills that once stood along the River Carron. On the dice are company names remembered from Denny's industrial past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.