First Creme Stop Meal of the Year!

My husband and I had hoped to visit my parents last week, to sit with my mom while my dad went for a medical appointment. But plans changed, the appointment got cancelled, and we ended up postponing our visit until this sunny and beautiful spring Friday instead.

One of the things we look forward to when we're in their area is to visit the local Creme Stop on route 35 in McAlisterville, PA. It's only open on the weekends right now. So on our way down, we stopped for fish sandwiches, onion rings, and a large cookies and cream milkshake. You may see my yummy snack (minus the shake) in the photo.

We visited my mom and dad (age 90) for the afternoon, and swapped yarns and caught up on recent news. (Fire the mechanic! Sell the car! was my dad's advice regarding our recent car woes.) Their tulips are blooming, and we saw the first hummingbird of the year arrive at their feeder early in the afternoon. My parents have had lots of medical appointments, but for now at least, they seem to be pretty well caught up.

My mom can't do as much for herself as she once did, and things she used to remember (like her children's birthdays) are slipping her mind now. My dad is doing his best to cover, but it's hard. We love them to bits and are trying to see them as often as we can, love them up as much as we can, do for them whatever we can, and lift them up in our prayers. To be sure, growing old is not for sissies!

The soundtrack song is for the food photo: The Ohio Express, with Yummy, Yummy, Yummy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.