Earth Day: If You Love Me, Plant a Tree!!!

I was out on my daily walk, when I spotted the first one on the road. It was a tiny maple seed pod, also called a samara, and it was so itty bitty that I thought it might make a nice HAT for one of my Crittergators. So I picked up that one, and then a few more. EVERYbody will be wearing cool hats for the next photo shoot, I thought!

By the time I finished my walk, I had a whole pocket full of them, of many different sizes. I wondered if anybody saw me picking them up off the road. Would they think I was crazy? Did I really even care? And then suddenly, the vision came to me, clear as day: all of the seed pods assembled together to make a tree! And so here is my vision, made real. (The Crittergators - red and green, like the seed pods, couldn't resist appearing in this shot.)

It happened to be Earth Day, and so it seemed fitting that I make some art that is from beautiful Nature. You know how I adore trees, so it would make sense that I'd build a tree. Yes, I'm a tree hugger from way back when. But do you know how much good one tree can do? One tree can:

*provide oxygen for two people to breathe for one year
*if a full-grown apple tree, can provide 2500 apples in a year
*prevent water damage and erosion
*absorb 48 pounds of carbon pollution per year
*provide cooling down in the heat of a summer's day
*make us healthier and happier, just hanging out among them (even 5 minutes can help!)

Like Thoreau, I have faith in a seed. In fact, I have faith in ALL of these seeds. Call them what you will: helicopter, whirligig, whirlybird, spinning jenny, samara, seed pod. They are TREES waiting to be born. What better thing can you do than this, if you love your Mother Earth?

Yes, plant a tree!!!

These samaras are from maple trees. So my soundtrack song is the Maple Leaf Rag, actually performed by the guy who wrote it, Scott Joplin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.