Gifts of Grace

By grace

Low tide

VERY low tide, taken from my sit-spot. I hardly ever go to my sit-spot at low tide. I hardly ever walk by the water at low tide. I can hardly bear to post this image. Strange, huh? I am averse to low tides and empty beaches. I far prefer the vast expanse of high tide, the water starting right at my toes, ideally. As evidenced by so many of my blips.

This realisation came from perusing my birthday book and hearing that the friend who gave it to me shrinks from the full tide images and leans into those showing low tide. We thought this might reflect the yin and yang of our personalities. Actually, that was my idea and my good friend humoured me by exploring how that would be. In the end we agreed that it kinda fitted.

When I dreamt into the wave sounds of tinnitus the other day and (eventually) rested into the emptiness, the space before the in-rushing tidal sounds, the tinnitus resolved itself. It deposited its gift of silence and retreated back into the vastness. I trust that it will come to remind me when I again get too full of myself, of busyness, of words.

It was unexpectedly impactful to see my great, great-grandmother (who I never met) gazing out at me from my homepage all day yesterday. I appreciate being able to introduce her to you all. There are more family pics on my Blipfolio and the next installment (Courtship) on the new blog: Behind the Scenes (link on my About page).

#am writing #am swimming (and composing, re-writing whilst I swim [the blog, not Blip. I never know what I'm going to write on Blip till I select an image and upload it, face the empty text box] Joy in both, the spontanaeity of Blip and the considering of the other.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.