Life Savors

By osuzanna

Pink Oyster Mushrooms

I am always envious of the beautiful fungi shots I see here on blip so decided to do something about it.  I ordered a mushroom growing kit and have been nurturing it for the last few days, patiently waiting for something to happen.  Suddenly and quite quickly, I have mushrooms.  Last night, before bed, there was the hint that something was happening, this morning there was no doubt and by this afternoon I had something to photograph!  These little caps are only a couple of mm in diameter so this was taken with the 2:1 macro from about 2.5 inches away and then cropped a bit. 

The good thing is that when they are full grown, we will be able to eat them.  My husband just shakes his head at another one of my "science projects."   He still hasn't recovered from my "meal worm" farm for the bluebirds.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.