Six Months

This is one of his official six-month photos.  There are others with him smiling but this one tugged at my heart as you can tell he is getting a little tired of all this picture business and has found his thumb. Of my four sons, his father was the only one who sucked his thumb, and this reminds me of him. 

I try not to think about all that we are missing but today I am wallowing in it a little bit.  I miss sinking my lips into those chubby little cheeks and touching his beautiful soft skin and remarking on those creases in his arms and thighs where there usually aren't creases.  I miss snuggling with him and the smell of him after his bath.  I miss seeing those developmental milestones in person,  but will happily settle for them by way of Facetime or Zoom. It is when I think of all these things that I become aware that time is slipping away quickly. 

Then I think of those who went through other times of hardship and realize that we are so lucky to be able to stay connected through technology while in the comfort and safety of our homes. 

He is too young to know and remember us, but eventually, he will.  This will not last forever and we will renew our relationship with him then. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.