randomgirl

By randomgirl

Old Pump House and bog

I talked about this strange old building in an older blip. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2814647854092520326
Today I was walking past it on the narrow path near Achnagairn House that runs between the burn on one side and some boggy ground on the other. I noticed how much the ground had dried up recently, and realised I could actually walk down towards the bog where the pump house stands and take some closer pictures of it.

I find the building quite mysterious and interesting and I'm wondering how old it is. Apparently it was used to pump water up to the big house. (NB. I will have to blip a picture of Achnagairn House one day - it's very attractive.... nowadays it's a venue for weddings and conferences, or at least it will be again soon hopefully).

As I walked down towards the pump house I discovered some beautiful looking clumps of bright yellow flowers growing in the water just opposite (see extra). They were hidden from view along the path, so I'd never noticed them before. I think they're Kingcups (Marsh Marigolds).
Five minutes later as I walked further along the path I got a nice surprise when a heron suddenly flew up from the burn and disappeared into the trees. It heard me coming obviously, so I didn't get a chance to get my camera out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.