No big deal

Finally, have sawn up all the tree into 33cm long bits. Well at least all those that I am prepared to do. I suspect Angie will come along and want all the 2 or 3cm thick branches done as well, and I'll be busy till Christmas! Just the amount I have cut will keep me busy for ages, loading it up, splitting and stacking it for, at the earliest, winter 2022/3. Then there are the branches to dispose of - we are not allowed to make bonfires.

Talking of being around in 2022/3, I have become very frustrated and frankly very annoyed at the apparent chaos in the Bavarian Corona Vaccine Strategy (in Germany down to the 16 States, central government -Angela Merkel - has until today had very little to say about how Corona measures in Germany are carried out. Today the German Parliament passed a law giving her some, still limited, central say in lockdown measures, although the 16 States are still free to go even further.

Anyway, back to vaccines - back on 13th January I registered myself online for a vaccine and was put in Priority group 3 (precondition). Angie didn't want to register & said she would wait and see how things developed. Back then there was a clear national priority ranking & quite understandable, a mixture of age and risk (health/care workers, front line, teachers etc). Increasingly things started breaking down and one could see younger, fitter people getting jabbed for no logical reason. Two weeks ago, I insisted Angie registered, the same Priority group as me but 11 years younger.

What happened? a few days later she got the call to be vaccinated today  & should she have accepted could have had it last Saturday night! Meanwhile, while registering her, I noticed a few newly added precondition criteria that I hadn't seen before and added these, making me Priority Group 2.

Naturally pleased for Angie, but angry not just for myself but for all those at risk people who aren't fit on computers/mobile phones/social media and who haven't even registered - there are countless cases of over 80-year-olds who have heard nothing because they don't know they have to take the initiative rather than wait for a letter.

So the last few days been complaining bitterly on social media to all the high up Bavarian politicians. Not that it will make a difference! The only good thing is that the supplies are coming through now to Germany, and they are getting into people's arms even if not the right people. The new case rates and deaths are simply alarming though.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.