“Pink Moon” ....

... is the name of April’s full moon but this is not quite the full moon. The cats woke me at 3:30am and I could not get back to sleep so by 5am I was walking with a head torch up a forest track towards our local ski area. 2 hours later I could hear the calls of the black grouse as the sun hit the snow and eventually saw two of them in full courtship display. As usual they were so difficult to approach but I got a couple of interesting shots, one doing a pirouette whilst calling (should this be my main photo?) On the way back down I saw some ducks coming in to land on Lac Bretaye, the trouble is it is still frozen. I have never seen ducks try to hover before (second extra)! They landed in a tiny bit of water by the side of the lake. No nesting for them for a while!

Hope you have had a good weekend. When granddaughter and boyfriend leave, 2 friends arrive, so just blipping between!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.