Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Goosanders

I’ve never seen a Goosander before, so meeting a whole family today was something very special. 

Things haven’t started well. G has planned a trip to the bird reserve at Point of Ayr, which promises waders galore, estuary walks and a lighthouse. Instead, we run into hoards of day trippers at Talacre. There’s nowhere to park, and we wouldn’t want to stop there even if we could. North Wales has been invaded this weekend, and I think we’re going to have to make very careful choices about any weekend walks we plan in future. 

So, just as I’m planning to have a garden flower blip today, we decide to stop for a walk beside the River Clwyd. Here in Rhuddlan the river flows through peaceful meadows, a far cry - but short distance - from the clamour of Rhyl where it meets the sea. 

It’s here I find my little family. I first spot dad, gliding elegantly upstream, clearly having nothing to do with the bundle of fluff-balls I soon spot paddling furiously to keep up with mum whose heading in the opposite direction. Of course I follow, scrambling down the bank, scrabbling over flood-deposited branches, kneeling in stinging nettles..... But it’s all worth it. 

They are absolutely gorgeous - and they know it. The problem, as always, is choosing. Should it be standing on the gravel bank with mum? Or should it be swimming up the stream behind her? Or there again, should it be the one where two or three hitch a lift upon her back? Thank goodness for ‘extras’. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.