If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Blackthorn flowers (Prunus spinosa)

I don't know how long this wonderful weather is going to last so we are making the most of it.  Most pf the day spent in the garden, some work and some just sitting enjoying the garden and refreshments.  In the  afternoon Clickychick was out for another part of her "Couch to 5K".   As is my habit I took the bike out along the same road.

In places the bushes are white with the flowers of the Blackthorn.  I couldn't resist trying a shot of them against the blue sky.  All we need now are enough pollinating insects and there will be a good crop of Sloes.  Sloes are of course edible but having in the past tried them raw I can't imagine them having many uses.   The only successful one I know is Sloe Gin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.