I like Birds

Up at an ungodly hour this morning for it's Birdwatch time. If you remember I do this every year and have a patch about 40 minutes away - beyond Skibbereen. Here I travel twice a year for a 7am start to walk my 1km square and record every bird I see, or think I see, and every bird that warbles. Within 100m on each side of the track. All good until the little beige jobs start up and you need very sharp eyes to distinguish your willow warbler from your chiff chaff and your grasshopper warbler. I didn't do it last year as I was in New Zealand and the year before I only did one session (two are required) as I had shingles, so I felt a bit rusty.  Anyway, great excitement to see four stonechats making a racquet as soon as I arrived- not spotted in my square before - and a predominance of goldfinches. Two cats, a bouncy dog, lots of lambs an done farmer were also spotted.
This was the view around 6.20am, dead calm and silvery grey. But I despaired when I saw what was going on across the bay on the Mizen . Can you see the flames? Deeply depressing as burning is banned after March 1st. Even more depressing that someone should think it okay to do this now as a disastrous fire has been raging in Killarney for the last three days, just brought under control. One third of the National Park may have been devastated, habitats destroyed and countless animals killed.  
The sun rose though, and it has been another glorious day. Apologies for lack of comments but there don't seem to bee enough hours in the day at the moment.
Oh, and I have a date for my first jab - Thursday!
I do a link to this every time I go on the birdwatch trail because I love it,
Birds  and I also love birds. Don't think I've chosen this version before though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.