Head First

Down the hatch went an enormous fish, head first. 

The great crested grebe pair were working hard as usual late this afternoon to keep up to the demands of their three chicks. It's been three days since I've seen them and yes they've grown! 

The nest isn't looking its usual self and the adults when I arrived were doing home DIY. Baby chick was helping dad by putting a few tiny bits of weed or twigs on whilst dad and mum were coming in with long sticks to shore up the structure. It did rain last night and maybe the water levels have risen slightly. Only a guess. 

I clonked myself badly with the camera whilst moving it to see a heron as it wasn't tight on the gimbal. I felt first to see if I'd still got my front teeth which I did have thankfully but then saw copious amounts of blood. It feels worse than it looks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.