Gannet

One of many gannets doing a fly past within feet of me as I walked on the cliff top edge this afternoon.

My day had not gone as planned so I ended up retracing my steps of yesterday to try and catch a glimpse of the black browed albatross which had been off on a jaunt at sea for the last few days. Had I arrived when I anticipated  I would have seen it and I even left the barn owl coursing the field next to the Reserve because the warden told me it had been spotted. The vantage point for spotting said albatross was the furthest platform from the entrance so I hot footed it over there with the encouragement of a few people on the way that it was around. 

Staple Newk is the most exposed of platforms with the wind whistling in from the sea and although it was lovely to see the fulmars and gannets I tried to hold out as long as I could for the BBA to rise from behind the cliff face where he was allegedly resting after doing a few circuits of the bay. 
It was not to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.