‘Very poorly'

A Story of Life, Death and the NHS

I read this last night - in one sitting. What a brilliant book. Michael Rosen tells the story of his serious illness from Covid, his months in hospital, his six weeks in an induced coma and his long period of trying to recover. It is told through messages sent to the family by his wife, through a diary kept by the people who cared for him in hospital and in his own prose poetry. It is a difficult story, but beautifully told. 

And it serves as a reminder that, in the midst of a successful vaccine roll-out and a 'getting back to normal' feeling, we cannot forget that many people died from Covid, many were seriously ill and only recovered because of the amazing work and care of hospital staff, and many are still feeling the effects of the illness. 

Women's Prize for Fiction 2021
For my record, and for anyone interested, the extra photo shows my personal shortlist - the official one will be announced tomorrow. I have read 8 out of the 16 on the longlist and have found some good books which I have enjoyed reading. I have chosen the six which I think are good enough to be on the shortlist and which I think might make it. The only one I haven't read is the Lockwood, which is apparently about social media. I am told that it is very good, but that one has to be a social media person, which I am not, in order to fully appreciate it. I will read it if it is shortlisted. There are several reasons why I don't think 'Summer' will be on the shortlist, but Ali Smith had to be on mine! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.