pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Just visiting

There was I thinking that it was just another run of the mill day, when I remembered that I was due to visit the office to salvage the crap personal belongings from my desk.

More importantly, this would be the last chance to deliver m’colleague of a hug before she officially departs due to redundancy, which is an absolute nonsense, but that’s another story. I was fine whilst I was in her presence, but as we parted in the spitting rain, she gave me a cake her daughter had made and personalised with my initials. 

I won’t lie: I had a lump in my throat as I drove back home.

The office is not officially open, but there is a lot of prep work being undertaken to ensure that it soon will be, so there were a few people kicking around the place today. It was nice to see some familiar faces and the company are doing everything you could possible expect to make it covid-safe.

I was struck by the sheer volume of red crosses on non-useable desks versus the green ticks signifying the OK zones and realised that it will be some time before we’re back up to full capacity in there. Even when we are, I think it is unlikely that I will be one of the masses and will be predominantly home-based from this point forward, which will suit me and my little lot down to the ground.

It was nice to visit, but I was happy to get back home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.