Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Chrysalis

ID update - possibly Heliconiinae Acraea violae.

I spotted this rather colorful chrysalis, hanging under a leaf this morning. I have no idea what butterfly will eventually emerge and resisted the temptation to take it home for observation.

So far I have identified around 60 species of butterfly in my collection of images. I also have many caterpillars too, but they largely remain unidentified.

An exercise that I need to start soon, is to research every butterfly that I have identified and copy an image of the caterpillar and chrysalis, to help with future identifications. It is a task that will take several days and I have been putting it off for several months. May be it is time to start.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.