Deflated

Lately I’ve had an ominous feeling about my visa situation. In short, the visa through our partner organisation is the fastest and is almost ready, but creates some complications in country. The ideal route is via our own NGO registration, which we have been progressing for a long time, is inching forward, but entails a longer uncertain wait.

It goes without saying that all of this should have been figured out much more than it was before I was handed the opportunity to go to Mozambique, and asked to relocate, but we are where we are, and I’m keen to get back. I’ve been banking on the quicker visa option but after a call with our lawyers in Mozambique today, it became clearer that that option is less desirable and I may have to resign myself to an even longer wait.

It was a blow to hear. I hid in a meeting room for a while, re-emerged, got some excellent advice from friends, resolved to sleep on it, and decided that a new plan would float up somehow from this disappointment.

This nice-looking brasserie at the Mill Pond was a hive of activity when I went on a lunchtime constitutional.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.