Just this

After a day full of various difficulties and absurdities everything seemed just right once I got out for a walk up the hill. The sky was the sky, the lines, the trees, the hedges, every flower and snowy blackthorn blossom were all just where they were and just fine, and there was wild garlic and Jack by the hedge for supper. As I reached the top of the hill two women were arriving back at their car from a walk and I recognised one as our latest recruit at work; I’m her ‘buddy’ helping her to find her way around the craziness of work. What strange alignments. It is very rare to see anyone who isn’t a local dog walker up there but even more unusual to encounter someone I know on a random midweek chilly evening like this who just happened to start work this week. Weird.


Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing,
there is a field. I'll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass,
the world is too full to talk about.
Ideas, language, even the phrase each other
doesn't make any sense.

Rumi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.