Marionb

By Marionb

On My Mind

Not a very interesting blip today for anyone other than me, I guess, but travel is what has been on my mind. Lately this pandemic has been getting me down. I have been pulling out my old travel journals, reminiscing and feeling sorry for myself, lamenting trips I have had to cancel and worrying that those traveling days may never return. A chat this morning with my daughter who also misses travel as much as I do, ended up reminding us both of just how lucky we are. We talked about how this pandemic has affected others we know and that in comparison, we have not had to make any real sacrifices during this time other than to change our lifestyle temporarily. We really have nothing to complain about. Then this afternoon, a friend dropped by to return some books. She is a retired public health nurse  who answered the call to return to work to counsel patients with COVID and to help run vaccination clinics. Her stories over coffee just confirmed what my daughter and I had been talking about earlier. A theme for the day seemed to be emerging...that we are SO lucky. I needed that to get back on track. I will go back to browsing through those journals but to celebrate the experiences therein not to lament the possible loss of future ones....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.