Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Why is this woman laughing?

I spotted this flyer stapled to a utility post and burst out laughing. If you have ever read any of near-billionaire Eckhart Tolle's many books, you will laugh with me. If you haven't, you might laugh anyway. 

The poster touts a "Mental Wellness Festival" featuring unnamed wellness coaches and an unnamed "collection of Portland’s very best mental wellness experts in various fields," and it is sponsored by an organization I've never heard of that calls itself the "Portland Buddhist Business Association." That makes about as much sense as "Be There Now."

[Answer: Tolle's motto is "Be HERE now." Not be THERE now. In fact our wish to be THERE now, always wishing ourselves elsewhere, wishing our lives were different, is exactly what Tolle says is the root of our suffering. As for David Byrne, my guess is that he did not authorize the use of his name on this ridiculous poster.]

Thanks for your well-wishes. The migraine has passed, and I am clawing my way back to an upright position.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.