Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Smiley face with wink

Maggy has a bad habit.  When we go to a dog park, if there is anyone throwing balls for their dog, she steals the ball.   She won't give it back.   She won't come back to me and will run away if she thinks I am going to take the ball off her.   Treats and trickery have to be employed.  Of course, this morning when I went to Dixon park off leash area there were 4 people throwing balls for their dogs.  I generally avoid that park at busy times because there are always people throwing balls for their dogs there.  Now you are thinking why don't I just throw balls for her and she would leave everyone else alone.  There are two reasons why I don't do that.   First of all, I don't want her running full pelt and twisting (nothing like that to do a cruciate in) and secondly, even if I do throw her a ball, she will drop it and go and steal someone elses if they are thrown.   I think it is the chase and then capture she enjoys so much.

She also eats tennis balls, yes, hair pulled off and consumed first and then the rubber,  so you can see the ball here is a hairless solid ball. 

I was calling her over to give the ball back to me and this is look she gave me.   So cheeky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.