Nonchalant

It was a morning of jobs in preparation for a busy next week, more of that later.  The window cleaning team arrived mid morning and I set out the chairs on the patio so that they could eat their lunch there on their break (and have cuppas and banana muffins too!)  

I fancied some fresh air after lunch and dug out my coat (I thought I'd seen the last of that for a while but it's returned to chilly today) for a circuit of the moor.  The trees are all budding now and there is a hint of colour in the heather.  I could hear the noisy pheasant calling from  across in the fields and then spotted the head of this male grouse bobbing up and down.  He stopped to watch me as I stopped to watch him, then nonchalantly emerged from the heather and did a John Cleese strut through the open.  I took this blip and when I looked up, he was gone.  His body is excellently camouflaged against the heather, but that red marking on his head is a bit of a give away.  He looks clearer in large on the black background.

Repair Shop and Sewing Bee tonight.  We can hardly wait for Sunday and the final episode of Line of Duty!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.