Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A step in the right direction?

We were absurdly late in bed last night, not putting off the light till after 1am - a result of falling deeply asleep during the 10 O'clock News, I suspect - so my morning at least was abbreviated by my attempting to make up for it. Just as well, I reckon - today seemed one of these wasteful, nothing days: weather that was occasionally sunny and even warm, but mostly cloudy and threatening to rain, and not warm at all; nothing specific arranged until this evening's online Compline. However, you could say that this was partly a result of my decision to stop the Click and Collect shopping for now, saving me the torment of trying to remember what I needed, let alone wanted, which would then turn out not to be available, landing me back in the pre-booking-slot wilderness. I'll let you know how it pans out, as I know the waiting millions will be breathless with excitement...

Just a word to follow on from a comment on yesterday's post. I know there are people out there who seem - for I wouldn't presume to know - to be quite content with the way their life is going, seem glad to be safe and well and not struggling for money or employment. On the surface, that should be me. But it's not. When I was still an adolescent, I learned and adopted as my own the adage Nosce Teipsum - γνῶθι σεαυτόν,know thyself - and I know I'm seething with frustrations and stresses that probably spill out here. I'm just glad to see I'm not alone.

That said, the feelings of uselessness have been dissipated somewhat by a walk that gave me the photo I'm using of the gorse bushes along the River Massan and whatever splendidly-shaped tree that is providing the fuzzy yellow counterpoint. 

And tomorrow I'm getting my hair done ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.