I fear the worst: Herr Amsel on the Lookout

I just came back in the livingroom to witness Herrn Amsels lout shouting and him chasing away a magpie which had attacked the nest. You should have seen how Herr Amsel was chasing the much bigger magpie around! I can tell you, my mouth was open watching this.

But I'm afraid it was too late. The balcony is covered with tiny feathers. Perhaps Frau Amsel, perhaps (one of) the young.
It just happend 20 minutes ago and Herr Amsel has since been on the lookout - either sitting on the handrail or in this corner under the roof. He is not paying any attention to me.
But he keeps looking up to the nest and constantly checking his surroundings (I'm not making this up, his head goes up and down and up and down). I know it's nature and it's cruel, but I could cry. I hope there is still life up there in the nest. So many little feathers. I blipped a few, but it is so sad, I can't post them. Cross your fingers.

The workday wasn't any better.

19:05; 13°C and finally some rain (not much)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.