Härnösand Details

I was in town early this morning for an appointment with the dentist. Getting in there at 8 o'clock and in the chair for 80 minutes. Excellent care and chair-side manners, and no actual pain involved, but the discomfort of "open wide, a bit wider, just a bit more..." meant I felt pretty tired when I got out, and basically sat around the rest of the day reading a book. The adventure continues in  a few days.
Anyway, when I emerged I needed a bit of a walk to get rid of some of that adrenaline so I wandered around town for a bit, and since it was sunny took the chance for a few pictures.
I was first attracted by the daffodils but in the end the entrance section of this stately building proved more attractive.  
It's the residence of the County Govenor, who originally was the intermediary between the state and the county. S/he still is that officially but also works a lot with business and other organisations. I'm really not sure if there is a British/English equivalent. Wikipedia suggests "Lord Lieutenant" but what's that?
The building was completed in 1790, and was a sort of bribe to the state to get the Govenor's post moved from Sundsvall to Härnösand!
I'm a little surprised I haven't blipped the whole building before but I got close in August last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.