How's this for warped logic?

A lady, name of Doris Stokes, wrote a number of books - BUT - I seem to remember she did a series on TV entitled; yes I've just checked:-
"Doris Stokes - The Happy Medium, 1984"
Bearing in mind a percentage of Brits are inveterate "H droppers" to the extent I know of one lad who even wrote with dropped Hs, our old Doris would be rendered as "The 'Appy medium", you can, maybe, get the idea that in some accents it would sound like "The Eppy medium", maybe by a Cockney? 
The plant you're looking at is an Epimedium; so you can, possibly, understand why the one we had was Christened, by my warped mind, as "Doris".  Possibly out of homage to my Grandma, who habitually named some of her garden plants after whoever donated it.  Consequently the Bergenia in the Border for instance was called Mrs. Salt.  I never could decide whether Doris was for foliage or flowers.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
The three musketeers took another trip out to "Melki" today and again I made history by leaving empty-handed.  The extra is also in Melki, I've never checked as to whether it's "decorative" or they have/had sprogs who inhabited it; and since I frequently "shoot" it, it's time it got a look in as most of the predecessors were not quite so good shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.