shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Art work

An interesting day today. This is an art work by a student at Forth Valley College, I'm afraid I don't know the artist's name. It is set up in a common area by the fitness centre, other art works are in different places around the college for an exhibition of students' work for the next 2 weeks as I understand. There was a stylised picture on the wall of a man walking a dog I would happily have walked off with if my pockets were bigger and I wasn't a Christian with high moral standards. Ah, well!

I was at Forth Valley College today because I went along with a colleague to get our 'Healthy Working Lives' Silver Award, which we passed a few months ago. For those outside Scotland, HWL is a scheme to improve workplace health, and offers advice and support to employers around Scotland. They are particularly proud of the fact that the Scottish Government's economic development policy mentions them, the only such scheme in the world to be mentioned in such a Government policy document. The event was held at Forth Valley College's new Stirling building, which is beautiful, and very well kitted out indeed. We had a tour from the principal, a fascinating man who spoke at the award ceremony and told us about midgies and clegs. Seriously! For the non-Scots, they are small and large biting insects, you may know clegs as horseflies. And he was very interesting when doing so! But he gave us a great tour round, and then we had lunch in the restaurant, which is run by the students and lecturers. Very nice food indeed, I had chicken tikka on an onion salad and sea bass with noodles. Probably the most wonderful thing about the building is their view - over the river, the Wallace Monument and Stirling Castle. I'd study there any day just to look at the view. I didn't take my camera, but probably would have felt a bit odd wandering around with it, hence the phone shot. It was raining, so pictures of the view didn't really work with the droplets on the windows.

I spent a lot of the evening working, and then backing up photos and other stuff, my laptop fan seems a bit dodgy, so I want to be sure if something goes wrong I won't lose anything! I don't want to overload the poor thing, so am limiting my activity on it until I can get it looked at. Hence the back blip.

And a belated happy International Women's Day to all the ladies on Blip. I do miss Russia, where it is a wonderful day, but here it is just another day. No-one gave me flowers or chocolates or congratulated me. Ah well, what can you do but enjoy the Facebook congrats from friends over there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.