From the top of the hill

A straightforward drive to work this morning; meant that I arrived unstressed. The stress goblins had saved it all up for during the day. That is unfair. I should remember the sense of making a connection with a young patient whose presentation could be part of a mood disorder, but more importantly she feels so alienated that she believes that she is annoying to the whole world. She was able in the end to describe her experiences which will help in making a diagnosis and planning treatment.

And I should also remember the smile of pleasure when I told another patient that they could finish their stay in the ward as a voluntary patient. Someone who has accepted the need for medication and is positively engaged in ensuring that the dose is tolerable and effective. The result of having had a rapid and complete response to high dose lithium in acute mania.

Left at a reasonable time and despite the slow first section I arrived at Snells Beach as the last phases of sunset were visible. Just before Fidelis Avenue comes off the main road along the peninsula, is a hill from the top of which I was able to take the photo I've blipped, before carrying on to home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.