Day Thirty-five; Ariki Apartments

Another morning of back to back meetings by Zoom. An excellent instance of cross district co-operation as we reached a sensible agreement on assessment and treatment of "out of area" persons. This afternoon I was mostly involved with a workshop. All the different directorships (essentially different specialties) have been asked by our Chief Executive to propose two innovative developments that have shown promise for improving service during the last five weeks. I think we reached a good consensus that with modifications, how we are now organising the acute assessments is better than what was done before, and should be one of our proposals. It won't be cheap.

Home a bit later than intended, as I ended the day talking to two of the registrars about things like substance abuse, and that the medical profession has little to offer except for treating the sequelae of the drug use. In my opinion, drug abuse stems mostly from socio-economic alienation. 

On a shorter walk I was going along Murdoch Road (NOT named after my great grandfather Murdoch F) when I saw that I could see the Ariki Apartments across on the other side of the Grey Lynn gully. It was too good a juxtaposition of name and abode to ignore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.