SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Another back blip

It's 1am on 30th - it's still 29th somewhere, mostwhere in fact... I went out  into the backyard with tripod and camera and took some shots of the garden by the moonlight.  Kind of curious but not worthy.

I did produce this image on 29th so, as I claimed a few days ago, I reckon it counts.  It's a "depth map" of two images of the same merry-go-round taken a couple of years ago in Bath, England... just outside the baths.

In this age of digital photography, and post-production, on what day is the image truly created?  Metaphysically, perhaps it's only "created" once it hits the back of your eye?  I can feel teenage existential thoughts coming on.... time for bed.
-----
Back in the real world, I chatted with colleagues in India today (as with all work days) and passed on my thoughts and wishes, especially for their families.  Most of them live (and now also work of course) with their parents and/or children.  Meetings can be very lively (to put it mildly).  It's actually quite enjoyable although there is one bloke who it's almost impossible to hear every word.

Most of them use their webcams and have those fake backgrounds.  Every now and then the software gets confused and picks up a stray arm or head walking past.  We laugh a lot - they need it more than I do I guess.

The oddest thing, that's not really that odd, is that the two men I work most with, both in their 30s I guess, perceive the pandemic completely differently.  Bounding optimism in one call followed by furrowed brows in the next (although the later has a mother with underlying health issues so not surprising).

I wish them, and you all, everything you need (but not necessarily everything you want).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.