SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Don's hat (Gone to Gowings)

This hat was owned by my partner's father.  He died about 6 years ago. I don't think he wore it very often. He bought it from my hatter, Neville, about 20 years ago.

Alas, Neville is no longer my hatter and the shop in which Neville used to work closed down about 15 years ago.  Neville worked at a shop that most Sydney-siders my age and 30 years younger would remember, probably fondly: Gowings.

I loved Gowings.  I don't buy many clothes and I bought at least half of mine from them.  In my time, they sold simple natural fibre clothes in pleasing shades and colours (I was once described as dressing like a tree - greens and browns I guess she meant!)  They also sold really quirky gifts and excellent coats..  I was gobsmacked when they closed down - just shows how fashion conscious I am (not)!

When you bought a hat from Neville (I only ever bought Akubra from Neville) he always made sure it was a little too big and put a thin layer of foam padding beneath the leather interior rim.  The idea was that the hat would change shape to match your skull and, with time and sweat, the leather would shrink a little.  You would then, after a number of wears (depending on the weather), remove the padding.  Neville also had a stamping machine that he would use to punch out your initials or name in the leather interior trim.

You can still buy hats of course, but there will never be another Neville or another hat punching machine I guess...

Gowings had a slogan made famous in the 1940s "Gone to Gowings", signifying that someone had disappeared from their post (in order to grab a bargain from the shop).  Sad to say - Don, Neville and even Gowings have now all "Gone to Gowings" (as is our lot).

The saying was so well known that it made it into our Australian dictionary (The Macquarie) and seems to have had a new definition added in the process.

..."used as an intensifier for any slangy sense of the word gone, as specifically:
1. deteriorating financially.
2. ill, especially with a hangover.
3. failing dismally, as of a horse in a race, a football team, etc.
4. having left; departed hastily or without a specific destination in mind.
5. drunk.
6. insane; idiotic."

From about 1997 onwards, I used to wear a hat every time I went out of the house and still have an extensive collection although I wear them much less now.  My partner and I are off into the city tonight to see a show... I shall wear a hat in memory of Don, Neville and Gowings (and to keep the sun and rain off).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.