Dryads Saddle Focus Stack

Today I have mostly been playing with the focus stacking (focus bracketing) feature in my new camera....wow! What fun.

You basically tell it where the first shot is focused (near the front), how many frames to shoot and how much to move the focus by between frames. Press the button and it fires off the shots!

Then add the shots into a stack in Photoshop (or in this case Affinity as it made much better final images) and merge them!

I did a couple of test runs with a pair of scissors in the house this morning, then after lunch wandered into the woods to do these Dryads Saddle mushrooms. These two images (one in extra) were created from just 30 shots each, although I shot at least 50 for each one. Better in large!

Loading into Lightroom and Photoshop and then processing took ages...but I am well pleased. I used the 100 mm macro lens and a tripod.

Oh and I also saw an Orange Tip butterfly...extra 2, handheld single shot.

Fired off over 1500 frames today....eek! I have some culling to do

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.