A grand day out

Well, not a full day out but a few hours. I didn't actually go into this nature reserve, this was a pitstop - I put the car through a car wash and as I was driving I noticed that the filler flap was open so I pulled in here to close it before carrying on. From here I went to Sheppey which took a while as the new bridge was closed, everyone was being diverted off and over the Kingsferry bridge; this is single lane so a lot slower than the dual-carriageway new crossing; lots of very slow traffic.

I went to Capel Fleet raptor viewing site which is on the Isle of Harty (see the extra). The views from Capel Fleet are lovely but no particularly photogenic today - it was overcast and showery. I stayed for a while and saw a marsh harrier and a heron and lots of LBB. It was wonderfully peaceful, nothing but birdsong, but bitterly cold. Then I had a bit of a mooch around at Harty Ferry but the pub is still shut so no chance of a coffee. Then home to warm up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.