And then there were Six

We went once more to Stonebow this afternoon to check on the cygnets born last Sunday.

Basil and I walked up the path by the Blackbrook from Maxwell's while Len met us at the Washlands. As Baz and I came in sight of the small pool, I spotted the man who is always filming the swans at Dishley Pool feeding the adult pair. No cygnets in sight.

Imagine our disappointment as we rounded the larger pool to find the nest deserted. Surely the cygnets could not have just disappeared.

As we completed the circle we came in sight of the small pool again but from the opposite side. And there they were. Mum, Dad and six cygnets. But seven had hatched.

I'd been messaging my cousin who lives within hailing distance of the washlands who went up after we had left. She talked to the swan feeder/filmer.  Apparently, the parents had led their offspring down to the neighbouring Blackbrook in the morning and one cygnet had not returned. Even though water levels are low, the Blackbrook moves at a fast pace and it's likely the cygnet had been washed away.

Don't they look gorgeous? My cousin said the same thing happened last year. Only four out of seven survived.

I also spotted one of the egrets that have moved into Loughborough, in the Blackbrook by Morrisons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.