JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 119: pheasant's eggs

While clearing a very overgrown vegetable bed in the bottom corner of the garden today, P inadvertently uncovered a pheasant's nest. We often have families of pheasants running around the garden, so it's not really a surprise, but I haven't seen pheasants' eggs before and was fascinated by the colour variations. 

In other garden news, the onions are coming along nicely, the broad beans look ok, and this afternoon I potted on 21 small Brussel's sprout plants which were my neighbour's surplus and sowed courgettes and Crown Prince squashes. I hope they will be ready to plant out in about a month's time; the chilly weather and hard frosts have definitely slowed things down this year. The cucumbers I sowed last week have germinated quickly, liberating a space in the propagator, which only takes three seed trays; there are more beans, squashes and salads still to sow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.