Maureen6002

By maureen6002

The secret life of plants

It’s one of those days that disappear under the flotsam and jetsam of life. G & I never cease to be amazed at how much we used to deal with before we retired, and how the things we’d fit into odd moments now take over entire days. First there’s the dentist - which inexplicably I’d booked for 8.15 - a quick check up which morphs into a CT scan and booked treatment for an implant to replace my retained baby tooth which is - quite obviously - well past its sell by date. 

Then there’s haircuts, and insurances and car issues ..... and waiting for a phone call from  PALS at our local hospital (my medical notes and scan results seem to have disappeared .... long story). So, rather than enjoying an afternoon’s photo expedition, I content myself faffing around with shots of garden flowers taken this morning. 

It rained heavily last night, though initially I couldn’t  identify the sound, it seems so long since we’ve had rain, so when I go outside this morning, the tulips are heavy with raindrops. The many shots I take are whittled down to my favourite drippy blooms. 

The one I’m drawn to is incredibly fussy and complex - a ruby red variety on its second year, somewhat diminished from its glory days last April. There’s something gory and unpleasant about the technicolour version - almost surgical - so I try it as a mono which seems less offensive. From the very start, there’s been something alien about this tulip - a world of secret chambers, sticky-fingered curtains that keep deep cavities safe from prying eyes, protective spikes warding off intruders. It’s not a friendly flower, but it has a secret life ..... (best viewed large!) 


I’m not sure whether such an alien has a place in Flower Friday, but thanks to Biker Bear for hosting! 

Plants might originate in a supramaterial world of cosmic beings to which, long before the birth of Christ, the Hindu sages referred as “devas,” and which, as fairies, elves, gnomes, sylphs and a host of other creatures, were a matter of direct vision and experience to clairvoyants among the Celts and other sensitives.” 

Peter Tompkins - The Secret Life of Plants

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.