Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nineteen

My 19th species to be blipped this year, a female rose-breasted grosbeak. Usually the males show up first, in all their splendor, with the females trailing by about a week, so I was a little surprised to see her this morning.  She's been busy eating seeds at the feeder all day, working around the mob of blue jays.  I also saw a catbird busily eating suet and then singing from the cherry tree.  Summer is officially on when the catbirds show up.  No hummers yet - they seem to be running late all around our area.  

Good visit with my Primary Care doc.  He'd been following my cancer diagnosis so was up to speed on most things.  He examined the incision and declared it to look "great".  After making sure I was okay, he asked me if I was still able to manage a camera.  He has been our family doctor for many years and knows me very well.  We talked about diet, self-care, etc.  He made sure Hubs was okay too (Hubs was in the exam room with me).  

Best news of the day - the two "sentinel" lymph nodes they took out on Monday are both clear of cancer, as is the tissue from around the tumor.  That won't change my treatment plan, but it should mean no more surgery.  Hallelujah!

Tied for "best news of the day" - my nephew arrived home from his fifth tour of duty (he's a Major in the Army).  My niece-in-law sent me a text with pictures from the airport - all she said was "I've got him".  Enough to open up a flood gate of tears on my part - happy tears and just some pent-up emotions.  Seeing the pics of both of them and their two little boys - well, that's just plain good medicine.

I drove for the first time today and did probably a little more camera work than I should have.  I'm sore now, but nothing worrisome.  Just my body telling me I need to slow down a little bit.  

By strange coincidence, exactly 13 years ago on this day, I had a six-hour operation to remove a brain tumor.  I guess April is my tumor-month. 

Because it's the  end of the month, I'm going to add my usual summary below.  It's really just for my reference.

Stay safe (I learned this morning that a friend was down this entire month with Covid - very sick), be kind and definitely indulge in something chocolate.

xo
Debbi

April 1 - Stereotactic biopsy at Newton Med Center
April 7 - diagnosis - invasive ductal cardinoma (holy shit) 
April 26 - partial mastectomy with allergic complications
April 30 - pathology on sentinel nodes - cancer free!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.