Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Sixth time lucky

I found myself a new starlink tracker and got up at sparrows this morning and managed to see two satellites, not a train of 20 of them as I was supposed to see.  I think the moon, even though waning, was just too bright at that time.  I had another opportunity this evening and even though a possible shower was predicted, a miracle happened and it was clear. I decided to go to Redhead, hopefully less light pollution (except for the clubhouse - I need to find the off switch for it's lights) and a good marker was that they would be able to be seen above the Southern Cross which you can see here in the blip almost directly above the shark tower.  Now I realise you Northern Hemispherers might have some difficulty so I have done a sparkle tutorial on you tube and have put one up in the extra with it sparkleised so you can pick it out.

 You can also find the South Celestial Pole using the Southern Cross.  This is useful for star trails.  Here is a link to how to find it Link

Before I took this shot I did see the Starlink satellites.  There were 60 of them (the tracker told me that I didn't count them) and what a sight it was too.   I didn't manage to get a good shot of them and I was surprised at just how fast they were moving. If I try again for a shot of them I am going to try ridiculous ISO and hopefully catch them that way.  It was well worth the wait to see them so well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.