Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Rest easy.....

These flutterbys are part of a small shrine to a beautiful young girl from the village who took her life last year. Most motorists are oblivious to speed signs, I wonder how many see these small tokens of love?

In a totally different vein, and an attempt to lift my giggle factor, may I take you to Belfast July 21st, 1977. The usual bunch of Numpties decided to up the ante so blocked the city centre with 13 explosive devices, yes, 13. Of course this would have caused chaos had this been anywhere but Belfast where chaos was the norm. 

I was the City Cab that day and was covering the whole thing from a pleasantly warm and sunny cockpit, nothing to do but report on the hectic proceedings beneath me. The main Police station at Castlereigh did not have a helipad as such, well they did but they called it the roof. Fortunately it was flat, with a hatch, through which a head and shoulders would appear. Often followed by a bum, two legs and boots. 

A Police Inspector clambered into the rear of the cabin, he carried a radio and microphone so that he could coordinate traffic movements. When he put on his headset I looked around to say hello and convulsed in giggles. My Air Gunner, John McGaw, looked at me quizzically, all I could do was point at the passenger. There were two sets of lap straps. This huge copper had placed a lap strap around each thigh and was sitting excitedly like a Labrador, ready to go. John fell from his seat onto the roof of the building, howling with laughter. The three of us had a good day, I promised never to tell anybody ever, ever, about the Inspector. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.