misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Arbor Day '21

9 a.m and 30ºF (-2ºC) intermittent snow flurries did not stop hardy tree lovers from wearing their masks and social distancing in the park.
I picked this picture because I liked the little dog. Other people including small children were off to the side.
One Extra shows the Mayor reading a proclamation opening Arbor Day for 2021. Because of the Covid-19 limitations we did not have the 5th graders showing their tree posters-- thankfully because we were freezing in place.
The next Extra shows the wrapped tree selections: Douglas Fir evergreens, Tulip trees, Butterfly bushes, and Althea (Rose of Sharon) were the choices. To start, each person could select two trees to take home and plant. Had I waited to the end I could have had some leftovers, but I was shivering. I took my one healthy fir tree and a Tulip tree home for planting out next week.
This will start the re-forestation of my backyard after my neighbor's chainsaw massacre last fall. I have been shopping online for trees to order more this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.