misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Shadblow -- Service Berry

After posting the rather discouraging blip from yesterday, today is blue skies and the buds of "Shadblow" or Serviceberry.
The tiny purple berries arrive in late May and are loved by the birds. So much so, it is rare that I get to pick any before the trees are stripped of them. The birds waited all winter for them after all.
The trees easily reach 25 feet tall out in the forests around me. Mine are not so tall.
"Shadblow is its nickname.

I appreciate all the consoling comments about the tree disaster. An old timer (a resident over 80 years old) visited yesterday and said he leaves his in the large back yard and mows around it!!. I guess eventually Nature would take care of the whole thing. The expense could be too much for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.